Tel: 860-571-3602  |

Hartford Technologies Blog

6 Common Manufacturing Quality Certifications Explained

Posted: May 31, 2023 2:09:50 PM

For many manufacturing companies, quality certifications are essential to meeting industry standards and delivering the best possible products to customers. 

Quality certifications demonstrate commitment to the customer and to their profession, producing premium components while providing an added layer of assurance for buyers that the manufactured items meet all of their requirements.

For companies in the automotive or medical industries especially, having applicable certifications is crucial for buyers considering whether or not your organization is fit to do business with.

In this article, we will delve into ten common certifications every manufacturing company should consider having when doing business with a variety of different industries.

ISO 9001

ISO 9001, regarded as the most universal form of manufacturing certification, holds applicability across industries of all scales. Serving as a fundamental certification, it delineates the prerequisites for a robust quality management system. By obtaining this certification, an organization affirms that its products or services comply with customer expectations and regulatory mandates.

Noteworthy for its emphasis on customer satisfaction and overall business performance, this certification holds significant value.

IATF 16949

Developed by the International Automotive Task Force (IATF), IAFT 16949 is a vital certification for automotive manufacturing companies.

This global quality management standard is tailored specifically for the automotive industry, building upon ISO 9001 and encompassing additional requirements in product design, production processes, improvement, and customer-specific standards. It ensures compliance with stringent industry regulations, enhances product quality, facilitates supply chain integration, drives continuous improvement, and prioritizes customer satisfaction.

By obtaining IAFT 16949 certification, manufacturing companies in the automotive sector can establish credibility, expand business opportunities, optimize processes, and strengthen customer relationships.

ISO 14001

ISO 14001 is a certification focused on environmental management systems, offering organizations a structured framework to fulfill their environmental responsibilities. It guides organizations in developing an environmental policy, identifying potential environmental impacts, and establishing objectives for their management system.

The primary aim of this standard is to mitigate adverse environmental actions, including air emissions, waste management, and resource utilization, by promoting sustainable practices and minimizing environmental harm.

AS 9100

The AS9100 certification is specific to the aerospace industry and aircraft parts. This certification basically states that the parts meet the requirements of safety, quality, and high standards posed by the aviation industry.

Part of the reason that there is a specific certification for the aerospace industry and its parts is because of how highly specific it is and how specific and technical everything needs to be for safety and compliance.

ISO 13485

ISO 13485 ensures that all medical devices are designed and manufactured with safety in mind. Inspections are also an important part of this. This type of certification involves rigorous inspections and closely aligns with the requirements of ISO 9001. The certification specifically addresses the unique requirements of the medical industry, prioritizing high-quality components.

Patient safety and well-being are paramount, making ISO 13485 essential in reducing risks and protecting lives. By adhering to this standard, medical manufacturing companies demonstrate their commitment to stringent quality standards and the overall safety of medical devices.


Both the UKCA and the CE Mark signify that a product is safe for use. The CE Mark has previously been commonplace on manufactured goods, ensuring that they meet the required health and safety criteria.

This type of mark only applies to those goods and products sold within the UK. These have a UKCA mark. Others sold within Europe including Northern Ireland will need to have a CE Mark. If you see either mark, it signifies that the product has passed the standard regulations around health and safety.

Work With a Reliable Manufacturer

There are a lot of manufacturing certifications that range from very broad certifications to highly specific certifications for specific industries. Depending on the industry of an organization, the certifications will differ. However, it is important to stay up-to-date on certifications in the manufacturing industry.

Want to ensure your organization uses some of the highest-quality materials for your manufacturing needs? Contact us today.

Topics: Quality Control